Understanding the 3 Branches of the U.S. Government


Legislative Branch                

The legislative branch is made up of the House and Senate, known collectively as the Congress. Among other powers, the legislative branch makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies.

U.S. Congressional

Also referred to as a congressman or congresswoman, each representative is elected to a two-year term serving the people of a specific congressional district.  Through legislative debate and compromise, the U.S. Congress makes laws that influence our daily lives. It holds hearings to inform the legislative process, conducts investigations to oversee the executive branch, and serves as the voice of the people and the states in the federal government.

U.S. Senators (6yrs)

Every two years, following the congressional elections, a new class of senators comes to the Capitol to assume the duties of United States senators. The framers of the Constitution created the United States Senate to protect the rights of individual states and safeguard minority opinion in a system of government designed to give greater power to the national government. The Senate maintains several powers to itself: It ratifies treaties by a two-thirds super-majority vote and confirms the appointments of the President by a majority vote. The consent of the House of Representatives is also necessary for the ratification of trade agreements and the confirmation of the Vice President.

2020 Ohio Congressional seats up for reelection.

1st District

2nd District

3rd District

4th District

5th District

6th District

7th District

8th District

9th District

10th District

11th District








12th District

13th District

14th District







15th District

16th District



House of Representatives (2ys)

As per the Constitution, the U.S. House of Representatives makes and passes federal laws. The House is one of Congress’s two chambers. The number of voting representatives in the House is fixed by law at no more than 435, proportionally representing the population of the 50 states. The Constitution vests certain exclusive powers in the House of Representatives, including the right to initiate impeachment proceedings and to originate revenue bills.


Ohio Congressional Breakdown

Ohio U.S. Senators  (Terms for senators in Class I expire in 2025, Class II in 2021, and Class III in 2023.) The Ohio State Senate is one of 86 state legislative chambers holding elections in 2020. A total of 16 seats out of the chamber’s 33 seats are up for election in 2020. 

Brown, Sherrod – (D – OH) Class I Since Jan 4, 2007 Next Election in 2024

Portman, Rob –    (R – OH)  Class III Since Jan 5, 2011 Next Election in 2022

Bob Gibbs/Republican Since Jan 3, 2013 Next election in 2020


 U.S. House of Representatives: (Ohio Congresspersons)

Steve Chabot-U.S. House Ohio District 1/Republican Party
Brad Wenstrup-U.S. House Ohio District 2/Republican Party
Joyce Beatty-U.S. House Ohio District 3/Democratic Party
Tim Ryan-U.S. House Ohio District 4/Republican Party
Jim Jordan-U.S. House Ohio District 4/Republican Party
Bob Latta-U.S. House Ohio District 5/Republican Party
Bill Johnson-U.S. House Ohio District 6/Republican Party
Bob Gibbs-U.S. House Ohio District 7/Republican Party
Warren Davidson-U.S. House Ohio Dist. 8/Republican Party
Marcy Kaptur-U.S. House Ohio District 9/Democratic Party
Michael Turner- U.S. House Ohio District 10/Republican Party
Marcia Fudge-U.S. House Ohio District 11/Democratic Party
Troy Balderson-U.S. House Ohio District 12/Republican Party
David Joyce-U.S. House Ohio District 14/Republican Party
Steve Stivers-U.S. House Ohio District 15/Republican Party
Anthony Gonzalez-U.S. House Ohio District 16/Republican Party

Kent Smith-Ohio House of Representatives District 8 (D) Cleveland, East Cleveland, Euclid, Richmond Heights Shaker, Beachwood, South Euclid,  Woodmere, and University Heights

Janine Boyd-Ohio House of Representatives District 9 (D) Cleveland, Euclid, East Cleveland, Richmond Heights, South Euclid,and Beachwood.

Terrence Upchurch-Ohio House of Representatives District 10 (D) Cleveland, Bratenal, and South Collinwood

Stephanie Howse-Ohio House of Representatives District 11 (D) Cleveland, Cleveland Heights, Shaker, South Euclid and University Heights

Juanita Brent-Ohio House of Representatives District 12 (D) Cleveland, Bedford, Beachwood, Highland, Orange, Pepper Pike, Woodmere, and Mayfield Heights

Ohio State Senate-A total of 16 seats out of the chamber’s 33 seats are up for election in 2020.

Sandra Williams-Ohio State Senate District 21/(D)

Cuyahoga County Council Members

District 7: Yvonne M. Conwell








District 8: Pernel Jones, Jr., Vice-President

District 9: Shontel Brown

Cleveland City Council

Cleveland Mayor

Frank Jackson


The U.S. Judicial Branch of Government


 The Ohio General Assembly is the state legislature of Ohio. It consists of the 99-member Ohio House of Representatives and the 33-member Ohio State Senate.

Currently, five of the court’s seven judges are Republicans.

French faces a Democratic challenger in Jennifer Bruner, a former Ohio Secretary of State and current judge on Ohio’s 10th District Court of Appeals.

Kennedy will face Democrat John P. O’Donnell, currently a judge on the Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas.

The Supreme Court of Ohio (6yrs)

Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor

Justice Sharon L. Kennedy

Justice Judith L. French

Justice Patrick F. Fischer

Justice R. Patrick DeWine

Justice Michael P. Donnelly

Justice Melody J. Stewart

Appellate Judges: District 8

Patricia Ann Blackmon, Mary J. Boyle, Frank D. Celebrezze Jr., Eileen A. Gallagher, Eileen T. Gallagher, Sean C. Gallagher, Raymond C. Headen, Larry A. Jones Sr., Kathleen Ann Keough,

Mary Eileen Kilbane, Anita Laster Mays, Michelle J. Sheehan

Cuyahoga Common Pleas Court

Dick Ambrose, Janet R. Burnside, Deena R. Calabrese, Cassandra Collier-Williams, Maureen Clancy, Brian J. Corrigan, Peter J. Corrigan, Carolyn B. Friedland, Stuart A. Friedman,

Nancy A. Fuerst, Kelly Ann Gallagher, Hollie L. Gallagher, Shannon M. Gallagher, Steve Gall, Daniel Gaul, Michael E. Jackson, Wanda Jones, David T. Matia, Robert C. McClelland

Timothy McCormick, Nancy R. McDonnell, Sherrie Miday, John P. O’Donnell, John J. Russo, Joseph D. Russo, Michael J. Russo, Nancy Margaret Russo, Shirley Strickland Saffold,

Michael Shaughnessy, Brendan J. Sheehan, John D. Sutula, Kathleen Ann Sutula, Joan Synenberg, Deborah M. Turner

Domestic Relations Division

Leslie Ann Celebrezze, Rosemary Grdina Gold, Francine Goldberg, Tonya Jones, Cheryl S. Karner, Diane M. Palos

Juvenile Division

Patrick F. Corrigan, Alison Nelson Floyd, Thomas F. O’Malley, Denise Nancy Rini, Michael John Ryan (Ohio), Kristin W. Sweeney

Probate Division Cleveland

Anthony J. Russo, Laura J. Gallagher

Cleveland Municipal Court

Lauren C. Moore, Emanuella Groves,, Shiela Turner McCall, Marilyn B. Cassidy, Pinkey S. Carr, Charles L. Patton, Joseph J. Zone, Suzan Marie Sweeney, Michael L. Nelson, Sr.,

Jazmin Torres-Lugo, Michelle Denise Earley, Ronald J.H. O’Leary, Ann Clare Oakar

Cleveland Housing Court

Mona Scott

Court Of Claims

Dale A. Crawford

Patrick M. McGrath





Leave a Reply